The Window of Heaven is Open, Just Pray

My mom has spent a few days in the hospital.  Tuesday proved to be a very long day. As I was leaving the hospital the first time of the day,  the clerk asked how I was and I mentioned that my mom was very sick and I was very concerned for her.  She asked me for my mom’s name, wrote her name down and said that she would pray for her.  That struck a chord with me. A complete stranger offered to pray for my mom.

Later that night, as I returned to the hospital, I happened to run into one of our church members and her brother and aunt.  They were there visiting their mother. We spoke for a while and her brother, who is a pastor, asked if he could pray for my mother. Yes, Please and right there in the hallway of the hospital, we stopped and he prayed for my mom.  Thank the Lord for His people who will take time at His nudging to pray at a moment’s notice.

Two days later. It was just an average day at the hospital. Well, I suppose it was anyway. I was sitting in my mom’s room waiting for her to get back from having a test. I was alone at this particular time and had been working on a blog post. It was quiet on the hall and I was enjoying the peace and quiet in the room. Those of you who know me, know that I get very few of those moments.  I have an app on my phone of Charles Spurgeon and had just read my devotions of the morning with mom and my sister Mary.  “If you would reach to something higher than ordinary groveling experience, look to the Rock that is higher than you, and gaze with the eye of faith through the window of importunate prayer.  When you open the window on your side, it will not be bolted on the other.” What a great thought right before you go in for a medical test. When we open the window of prayer it will not be bolted on the other side.  Jesus hears our prayers.

I was pretty amped up from my reading. Reflecting on the prayer of the parking lot clerk and our pastor friend,  when two ladies from housekeeping came in and I shared my devotional with them. We started talking about Jesus and how if we just shared Him with the people that we meet and if more people knew Him what a better place the world would be.  We had a sweet, short time talking about the Lord as they cleaned my mom’s room, we wrapped our arms around each other, prayed together and they went on their way.

My mom is doing much better. She went home from the hospital today, but we are still looking for answers to some of her medical issues.  I believe very strongly that God has answered an immediate need because people who love Him opened the window on my mom’s behalf.

This song is sung by the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir.  It’s one of my favorites right now. I hope you like it as well.

“When you open the window on your side, it will not be bolted on the other.”  Charles Spurgeon

It’s just an Average Day on Everidge.

Until we meet again, Fifi

Feel free to share this post if it has encouraged you in any way.  Have you had a prayer answered?  Please share with me!  I would love to hear how God is working in your life.  Fifi

Leave a Reply

