Diets, Dinners and Desserts

We are big eaters. We love food. We love it a lot.  I’ve been cooking since I was a little girl and I know my way around the kitchen pretty well.

You’ve heard the saying,

One-must-eat-to-live__quotes-by-French-Proverb-86

Well at our house we sometimes get this rule backwards.  Eating is a sport over here. An event. We love to cook and feed people and we love to hear how great the food is.  We purchase the finest whole, natural and organic ingredients. We buy our meat, hormone and antibiotic free and we practice a recipe and test it, until we get it just right. For example:  My husband’s hot wings are to die for. Seriously, they are crunchy on the outside, moist on the inside, hot, with a hint of sweet but also a hint of tangy.  He has his hot wing recipe perfected. You can ask any of our son’s basketball buds or any of his closest friends and they will tell you they are the best wings ever. We mention wings and people line up. We take this food thing very seriously.

However, most recently due to health reasons we’ve had to make some serious diet changes. My cholesterol level is off the charts, (thanks mom) and I’ve recently found that I need to exclude gluten and dairy from my diet as well (I don’t know who to thank for that.) and we agreed that losing weight would be an added bonus. We determined in June that we needed to make healthier choices. Talking about it wasn’t enough.  We thought if we chose to eat meat during only one meal a week then that would be an easy, affordable and healthy way to do both. We both are meat and potatoes kind of folks so we expected this to be a huge challenge.  What we learned was, after cutting out meat, we felt 100 times better after our meals. We had so much more energy. We didn’t miss meat as much as we thought we would and our grocery bill was much less. I had to become more creative with meal planning as well. I’m experimenting with different vegetables and changing up recipes. We were just getting in a groove when three months in I found out that I needed to cut gluten and dairy from my diet so that added challenges and restrictions that I wasn’t sure I was prepared for. I’m from the country. We use flour, butter, milk and cheese with a side of Ranch dressing on everything. I’m not going to lie. It takes some getting used to. Especially the baking.  The flour (coconut and almond) eh, still getting accustomed to the texture.  I’m learning. I will leave it at that.

Tonight’s meal consisted of Fried Cod Fish, recipe posted below,Steamed Broccoli, Mixed Rice (Brown/Jasmine cooked in Vegetable Broth) and for dessert, Chocolate Pumpkin Cake

We are still a work in progress. We’ve lost a combined 49 pounds and my cholesterol has dropped 30 points.  I think we are on a good path and will keep you posted on our progress.  We definitely feel better.IMG_2670

Breaded Cod Fillets (Recipe Modified from Original)

  • 4-5 3 oz fish fillets, fresh or frozen
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup of almond milk
  • 1 cup of gluten free panko bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup of fresh grated parmesan cheese (omitted in my recipe)
  • 1/4 tsp of dried parsley
  • 1 tsp of dried basil
  • 1 tsp of dried oregano
  • 1 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of fresh ground black pepper
  • 3 Tbls of extra virgin olive oilPREPARATION
  • Rinse the cod under cold water and pat dry with a paper towel.
  • In a shallow bowl whisk together the eggs and milk.
  • In another shallow bowl, mix together the breadcrumbs, cheese, parsley, basil, oregano, thyme, garlic, salt and pepper.
  • Dip the cod into the egg mixture then coat with the breadcrumb mixture.
  • Refrigerate for around a half hour.
  • Heat the oil in a large frying pan.
  • Fry the cod until golden brown. Around 4 to 5 minutes on each side.
  • Drain on a paper towel and serve.
  • Serves 4 people
  • IMG_2676

Gluten Free Chocolate Pumpkin Cake

Ingredients

Drizzle

  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 2 tbsp almond milk

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease and flour a square 8×8 baking pan. Alternatively you can line the bottom with unbleached parchment paper. The original recipe recommended the parchment paper.  I just greased and floured the pan and it seemed to work fine for me.

In a large mixing bowl add the milk, puree, apple sauce, eggs, and oil. Combine with awire whisk. Add the rest of the ingredients except the chocolate chips and combine. Add 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and fold.

Pour the batter into the prepared baking pan and bake for 45-55 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool cake in the baking pan over a wire rack.

Heat the 2 tbsp of milk and add the chocolate chips. Whisk until the chocolate is melted and drizzle over the cool pumpkin cake.

You can follow my Gluten Free Pinterest Board here.  I’m always pinning new recipes. If you’re interested in following my Pinterest Veggie Board, you can follow it here.

Until we meet again, It’s just an Average Day on Everidge, Fifi

Leave a Reply

