31 Days- Resting in Him- Day 2

Beach storm_edited-3

Our Boxer, Lola is a rescue.  She is the sweetest dog ever.  She is perfect in every way but one.  She has severe anxiety.  We give her a pill every day to help her stay calm. When we are getting ready to leave the house she starts shaking and even sometimes hides under the dining room table or goes and hides in a bedroom.  When a thunderstorm pops up, we put on her Thundershirt which swaddles her like a baby. She is on full red alert and standby when the clouds roll in.

Lola thundershirt2

I don’t think that is necessarily a bad thing. Maybe I should be more alert and ready. Then when the storms roll in they won’t catch me so off guard.  There is an old song that I remember  singing in the old Methodist church that I attended as a little girl.  It’s a Negro Spiritual and has a very haunting tune. The lyrics go something like this. “When the storms of life are raging, stand by me. When the storms of life are raging, stand by me. When the world is tossing me, like a ship out on the sea. Thou who ruleth wind and waters, Stand by me.” Are you like this too?  You get tossed about.  Something comes at you and catches you so off guard and you just don’t know what to do.  Look at the lyrics below.  “Thou Who rulest wind and water, Thou who never lost a battle, Thou who knowest all about me. Stand by me”  Let’s work together and learn during the next 30 days to just rest in Him. I know I need to just rest.

1 When the storms of life are raging,
Stand by me (stand by me);
When the storms of life are raging,
Stand by me (stand by me);
When the world is tossing me
Like a ship upon the sea,
Thou Who rulest wind and water,
Stand by me (stand by me).

2 In the midst of tribulation,
Stand by me (stand by me);
In the midst of tribulation,
Stand by me (stand by me);
When the hosts of hell assail,
And my strength begins to fail,
Thou Who never lost a battle,
Stand by me (stand by me).

3 In the midst of faults and failures,
Stand by me (stand by me);
In the midst of faults and failures,
Stand by me (stand by me);
When I do the best I can,
And my friends misunderstand,
Thou Who knowest all about me,
Stand by me (stand by me).

It’s just An Average Day on Everidge.

Fifi

Leave a Reply

