When Your World Gets Gnarly

Gnarly (2)

I will be the first to admit that I’m a worry wart. When my world gets gnarly, (difficult or challenging) I worry. When things are out of my control, I worry.  When I can’t please everyone, I worry. When other people’s lives are out of control, I worry.  We all pretty much know that worry in itself is sinful. God is pretty clear in His Word that we are not to worry. If we believe His Word is true then why do we allow ourselves to succumb to it?  It really all boils down to a lack of faith.

I’ve heard messages on this subject my entire life. From various different speakers, pastors, female speakers at women’s conferences, etc. Yet, it is still something that I struggle with.  I like to think that some of it may be hereditary.  Okay maybe 10%. I heard a message today, however, that really hit me like no other. The pastor was speaking on how worry is waste. That is so true. It’s a waste of time, energy and effort and even our lives.  Worry steals joy and happiness. It keeps us from being effective Christians. It can even consume us if we can’t get it under control. One of the things that the pastor mentioned was that we can’t experience true life as it is meant to be until worry ends.  We miss so much when we worry.  Matthew 6:31-32 says: So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them.” This is what the sinners do. They run after these things, worrying, fretting, but we have a Heavenly Father who already knows that we need them. He knows all of our needs. Not just our material needs, but He knows our physical and emotional needs as well.  He cares so much about our needs that he made sure that it is recorded it in His Word, as a reminder, so that we could refer to it again and again. I think He knew that we would struggle with this.  

tulip

If the Lord will take care of the sparrow He will surely take care of his people whom he created in his image.  He even cares about the smallest worry that you might have. Give it to Him today. Fully rest and trust in Him. Have a faith that is stronger and bigger than your worry.

This video above is Sandi Patty singing “No One Ever Cared for Me Like Jesus.”  This is a great song to have on your heart. When worry starts to overcome you, just start singing these words: “No one ever cared for me like Jesus. There’s no other friend so kind as He. No one else can take the sin and darkness from me. Oh how much he cares for me.” It’s such a sweet reminder of the love and care He has for us.

Until we meet again, it’s just an Average Day on Everidge, Fifi

Leave a Reply

