Hide it Under A Bushel, NO!…

…I’m gonna let it shine. Hide it under a bushel NO! I’m gonna let it shine. Let it shine! Let it shine! Let it shine!

candle pic monkey

(Disclaimer: This is my personal blog page. I have my own personal opinions. You have yours. You have the right, just as I, to have your own blog page and to voice your own opinions. This post is not a debate about HB2.  This post was written in love and with a kind heart. With that being said, know this above all else, you are loved. God loves you and I do too. )

I’ve been conflicted as of late regarding HB2.  Some of what is said I totally agree with. For example: I do not want to go into a public restroom and have a man, whether he identifies as a female or not, in there with me. In my opinion, a restroom is for taking care of private business and there are just some things that are ok the way they are and I believe they should stay the same.  Personally, for me, going to a public restroom is disturbing enough in it’s own right. I never “plan” to go to a public restroom but sometimes nature calls at unfortunate times and I have no other choice.  I can’t for the life of me figure out why the powers that be, in the business world, would want to endanger anyone, woman, man, teenagers or children. I’m sure they (businesses) don’t want anything bad to happen in their restrooms. I’m also sure lawsuits would abound. Anything that happened would be tragic and yes things happen in restrooms now with or without the law. Male and Female restrooms.People on both sides of the fence say what they want to say to argue their point. I have my opinion and it’s just that. My opinion.  With that being said and now out of the way, that is not what this post is about.  (On a side note, I have been in a public restroom and came out of the stall and found that a man had followed me into the restroom. I have no idea which way he identified. I don’t care. It was a little more than unnerving.) There, enough said about that.

I don’t like that businesses, concerts, etc. are boycotting North Carolina because of HB2.  They are hurting our hardworking, innocent citizens, even some of those which may be transgendered citizens. See how that works. In order to get their point across, they are hurting the same people they are trying to help.  This does nothing to help their “cause” or “fight.” I was so upset that they would do that to our fine State and our citizens. But then as I continued to stew and ponder on this subject I realized that I had done the same thing to a local business and its employees. When Target came out in public, with their policy, I was all on board with the “hit them where it hurts.” They will lose money and change their policy. So, I signed the petition to boycott Target.    I go to Target weekly and usually during the AM work shift. As I frequent this place of business, I have been getting to know the clerks and employees. When you go to a business and see the same people over and over again you get to “know” each other on a surface level and even maybe a few on a deeper level.  I have given out my business card to a few of these ladies. One has even asked me to pray for her. The employees of Target are regular, everyday, hardworking people. They get up, get ready and go to work. They don’t make the policies for the company they work for.  If I boycott Target then I have thrown a bushel over my “light.” My light doesn’t shine anymore to those employees anymore.  Are you with me? Should I slam the door and turn off the “light” on these relationships that I have been building for the last seven months?  How can we share Jesus with a lost, dying and hurting world if we have a bushel over our light?  Matthew 5:15 says: “Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house.” We are the light of the world.  If we don’t shine Jesus’ light then how will they see it? How will they hear? How will they know?

Here is our answer: Matthew 5:16  “In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

I don’t have all the answers. Don’t even come close to having them all. I know that as Christians we need to take a stand against sin and evil. I also know that we are called to be salt and light to the world and if we “boycott” or hide that light then we are not doing what Jesus commanded.  I am yet to figure out how to take a stand and continue to let Jesus’ light shine through me, with love. The last thing I want is for people to know that I identify as a child of God, a follower of Christ, but to think that I have hate in my heart. I want them to know that I am a true child of God and have the love of Christ in me but yet stand for what is right and good.

I pray that God will continue to work in my heart and speak to me.  I pray that my heart will be receptive to His will and that I won’t push MY will and agenda. I pray that everyone will see His light in me and that I won’t hide His light under a bushel. That His light will shine brighter than ever before in this dark world. Will you let your light shine with mine?

Listen to this little song and listen to all the words. It will make you feel happier in your soul. Give you a little peace from above.  Might even make you smile.

Until we meet again, It’s just an Average Day on Everidge, Fifi

Leave a Reply

