“Worry Becomes Worship”

I know that for me, like probably many of you, the past few weeks have been been filled with some fear and and worry. Worry for our country. Worry for friends and family. It’s so easy to get caught up in the news reports.  Sometimes, I can’t tear myself away from the breaking news reports. I suppose I think if I sit there or listen long enough, eventually someone will come on the TV and say, “We are sorry, but it’s all been a mistake and we have misreported. It was just a movie set.” Please tell me I’m not the only one that gets caught up in the reports.  I see the faces of the victims and I pray for their families, friends and co-workers. I become connected to them right there in my living room.  I think the places where the violence happens is so far away but really it isn’t.  We are just one breath away from it being our town, our community.  We just never know when evil darkness will walk in our door and wreak havoc and change our lives forever.

Fear Becomes Faith

Rev. David Horner, in a message a few weeks ago said “When fear becomes faith, worry becomes worship.” When we worship our Creator there’s no room to worry. We, as believers, now more than ever, need to cling to that faith rather than fear. We need to worship, rather than worry and looking to the cross will keep us focused toward that end.  I’m going to be honest and say that I struggle with this. I don’t sit and wring my hands but I do question and worry somewhat. God’s Word says in II Timothy 1:7 “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of POWER and of LOVE and of a SOUND MIND.” When our minds are sound in God’s Word we have no reason to fear or worry. We just need to trust fully and pray.

Do you struggle with the same fears? Do you have a verse that you cling to when life is out of control?

I’m thankful we have a blessed hope that this is not the end. Aren’t you?

Until we meet again, it’s just an Average day on Everidge, Fifi

 

 

Leave a Reply

