Live to Eat or Eat to Live? That is the Question…

edison

I’ve done this a couple of times. Hahaha! You know, changed my eating habits. You might have done the same thing a time or two. Some of the changes have stuck. Like the time I stopped drinking soft drinks in 2004. I still haven’t started back.  I will on a very rare occasion have a ginger ale but that might happen once or twice a year at the most.  In addition, since 2004, for the most part, we eat an organic or all natural diet. It’s hard to do that all the time but we try very hard to stick to that lifestyle. We just feel better when we do. We can actually feel it if we eat out at a lot of restaurants. We call it the “preservative hangover”. Normally, I will try to find something on the menu that doesn’t have a lot of seasoning on it. For example, I will ask for fish to be broiled with just salt and pepper. I definitely try to stay away from MSG and other preservatives.

Recently, I have struck out on another healthy diet adjustment. This one is due to being on a stomach medication for many years. After doing research, I found that this medication was designed for the patient to be on for a maximum of six weeks.  I’ve been on it for years!  YEARS!!!!! This medication kills the acid in your stomach. Acid that is needed for natural digestion. One of the side effects of coming off of the medication is a build up of excess acid in the stomach. You skip one capsule and you will have severe acid reflux. Just by skipping one!  In order to come off of this medication I would need to radically change the way I ate. Change the types of food I was eating and the amounts. I would also need to eliminate “trigger” foods. Foods that trigger acid reflux. Foods that caused the symptoms to begin with. Instead of putting a band-aid (medication) on the symptom, I needed to find out exactly what was causing my problem and fix it.  The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.  So, on December 26, I started an elimination diet. For the most part eliminating sugar, dairy, gluten and most caffeine. (I’m down to one cup of coffee a day, with honey and no sweet or unsweetened tea.) It was way past time to heal my tummy.  If I’m continually putting bad food, bad additives, etc. into my tummy,  that is causing pain and other symptoms, then my tummy will never heal. Ever! Also, let me assure you that I am also under the care of an Integrative Health physician.

The first week went really well. I had started feeling better. For the first time in many, many months my tummy wasn’t cramping. In our family we call it the rumbie tumbles.  I could eat my meals and not be in pain immediately afterwards. I was eating fresh veggies, stir fried in coconut oil or steamed. Brown rice, broth based soups,  roasted chicken (lightly seasoned), salmon, boiled eggs, sweet potatoes, salads with red wine vinegar and olive oil for the dressing.

A real test came on New Year’s Day. We had a family get together. I actually ate before we went so I wouldn’t be hungry.  While there, I ate very little compared to what I would normally eat. I had one meatball in BBQ sauce, 1 carrot stick, 1 celery stick, 4 little smokies, 1 tablespoon of hash-brown casserole, about 2 tablespoons of chicken salad, (removed from the bread) and a tiny sliver of coconut pie. I got sick within 30 minutes of eating,  twice on the way home, and three times after we got home. I was in horrible pain. That was a huge sign to me that I was on the right path and doing the right thing by eliminating “trigger” foods from my diet. Let’s just say that the next day I was right back on the plan and I haven’t looked back. As far as the medication goes, I’m now taking one every other day, without one single episode of acid reflux. The last time I tried to go off the meds, without changing my diet, I couldn’t go one day without horrible acid reflux. I feel the best that I have felt in years and I’ve lost weight as an added bonus.

I’m looking forward to sharing my journey here. In doing that I will be sharing my new recipes as well. I hope you’re interested and hopefully  you will want to try some of the recipes and share them as well.  And please ask your doctor before making any major changes in diet and medications. I am not a medical professional and am not advocating these changes for you. This is my personal journey.

Roasted Cauliflower Grilled Goat Cheese Sandwich

sandwich

Ingredients:

8 slices Gluten Free Bread (makes 4 sandwiches)

Goat Cheese Slices

1 Small Head Fresh Cauliflower, sliced in flat slices

Fresh Spinach, Washed, Patted dry or use salad spinner

Half Red Onion cut into slices, Roasted

5-6 Mushrooms, Sliced (optional)Roasted

3 tablespoons coconut oil (reserve 1 tbls. for grilling sandwiches)

Optional (1 tbls clarified butter in place of 1 tbls cocunut oil for grilling)

 

Mayo Spread:

¼ cup Organic Mayo

1 Small garlic clove, minced

1 tsp whole grain mustard

1 tsp prepared mustard

2 tsps, fresh lemon juice

Fresh Ground Himalayan Salt and Fresh Ground Pepper to taste

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400°.   Toss cauliflower, onions and mushrooms in two tbls melted coconut oil, salt and pepper. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or foil. Roast in oven for approximately 20 minutes or until cauliflower is golden brown. While veggies are in oven, prepare mayo spread by whisking together ingredients in small bowl. Spread on bread slices, add goat cheese and approximately 5-7 spinach leaves per sandwich.

Melt coconut oil or clarified butter on griddle or large frying pan. Finish building your sandwiches by placing your roasted veggies on top of spinach. Place top  on veggies. Cook for 4-6 minutes on medium to medium high until golden brown and the cheese starts to melt.Flip over and cook until brown on flipped side.(approx 2-3 mins)  Serve hot with your favorite bowl of soup or a fresh crisp salad.

(The mayo spread is totally optional. I spread it very lightly on my sandwich. Just enough to taste)

Thanks for stopping by and until we meet again,

It’s just an Average Day on Everidge.

Fifi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment